History and Purpose of Bhopal.net

Bhopal.net is the official website of the International Campaign for Justice in Bhopal (ICJB). Run by a team of Bhopal survivors, activists and supporters, it offers news, information and background on the 1984 Union Carbide Gas Disaster in Bhopal and the subsequent water poisoning. It also seeks to document the Bhopal survivors’ long, brave struggle for justice and a life of dignity.

Bhopal.net aims to disentangle and clarify all issues related to Union Carbide’s tenure in Bhopal and make available the entirety of our huge collections of source documents and other materials, collected over the years.

This site is possible because of the generous time given by dozens of ICJB supporters.

The contents of the original bhopal.net, founded in the early 2000s, was written predominantly by Indra Sinha and Tim Edwards. The contents of the now-retired studentsforbhopal.org was written by Ryan Bodanyi. The current Bhopal.net owes a large debt of gratitude to these contributors – today their original content can still be found throughout the newest version of bhopal.net (first unveiled in 2014).

The “What Happened in Bhopal?” section comes from content written by many authors. In addition to thanking those mentioned above, we would like to thank the editors of The Bhopal Reader (2005) – Bridget Hanna, Ward Morehouse, and Satinath Sarangi – for all their wonderful documentation work.

This site is also made possible through contributions from Rachna Dhingra, Nityanand Jayaraman, Shalini Sharma, Aquene Freechild, Gary Cohen, Farah Edwards-Khan, Maude Dorr, Diane Wilson, Shana Ortman, Colin Toogood, Kinnu Krishnaveni, all former members of the Students for Bhopal Advisory Board, and all current and former members of the ICJB-NA Coordinating Committee. To anyone who has contributed to the site and is not included here, we apologize for the oversight and please let us know.

The website wouldn’t be what it is without the technical expertise of the 2013/2014 ICJB Website Working Group, which includes Wendy Crumrine, J. B., and Matthew Fullerton. The website is currently maintained by Guneet Narula.

Share this: