[Main Menu]

[Campaign News]

Barrage DOW Day, 10 May 2000

The Bhopal Gas Leak caused by the Union Carbide plant in December 1984 has so far killed over 16,000 people. Union Carbide has refused to show up in courts or pay just compensation. Now, the chemical giant Dow Chemicals is planning to merge with Union Carbide.

In order to protest Union Carbide’s inaction and to try and prevent the merger, a DOW CHEMICAL COMPANY CALL IN DAY took place on MAY 10TH, one day before their shareholder meeting. The Call In was initiated by the Campaign for Justice in Bhopal, a network of US activists on issues of Bhopal Gas Disaster together with INFACT. Founded in 1977, INFACT is a national, non-profit corporate-accountability watchdog whose purpose is to stop life-threatening abuses by transnational corporations and increase their accountability to people around the world.

Callers made five calls asking the following two questions from Dow representatives:

The following Dow Chemical's phone and fax and email lines were "barraged" to express public resentment in the US:

PHONES
Main Line: 517-636-1000
Media Relations: Anne Ainsworth : 517-636-3920
Investor Relations: 800-422-8193

FAX
Shareholder services: 517-636-1830

EMAIL
Media Relations:    amainsworth@dow.com
Board members:    Harold Shapiro, President, Princeton University: hts@Princeton.EDU and profhts@Princeton.EDU
                             Jacqueline K. Barton Professor in Chemistry, Caltech: jkbarton@its.caltech.edu
The email addresses of the CEO and chairman are not public but callers tried these:
                             CEO William S. Stavropoulos: wsstavropoulos@dow.com or wstavropoulos@dow.com
                             Chairman Frank Popoff: fpopoff@dow.com
                             CFO J Pedro Reinhard: jpreinhard@dow.com or jreinhard@dow.com

Students at Princeton University (mostly Indian / American-Indian students) met with Harold T. Shapiro, a director of Dow and a member of Dow’s Environment, Health, Safety and Public Policy Committee. Mr Shapiro is also the President of Princeton University. Students demanded to know how Dow’s merger with Carbide will be in the public interest. Mr Shapiro has promised to get back to the students.


[Campaign News]

[Main Menu]