Survivors Express Gratitude for UK Parliamentarians Who Have Signed an Early Day on Bhopal

December 01, 2022

Five organizations of survivors of the Union Carbide disaster in
Bhopal today expressed gratitude to the members of UK Parliament who have signed on to an Early Day Motion (EDM) tabled in the Parliament on November 28.

40 members of the Parliament including representatives from five
political parties and three independent MPs have signed on to an EDM that calls for those responsible for the disaster to be brought to justice, calls upon Dow Chemicals, owner of Union Carbide, “to urgently rectify the environmental damage and properly compensate the victims” and commends the work of Bhopal based journalist late Rajkumar Keswani.

“It is significant that the recent leadership of the opposition namely
Jeremy Corbyn an independent and Andy Macdonald of the Labour party have supported the EDM.” said Rashida Bee, President of the Bhopal Gas Peedit Mahila Stationery Karmchari Sangh. She expressed hope that more MPs will sign on to the Motion and lingering issues of Bhopal will receive the attention of the UK parliament in the near future.

Rachna Dhingra of the Bhopal group for Information & Action informed that the motion was moved by Navendu Mishra a Labour MP of Indian origin. “Earlier Navendujee secured a debate in the UK Parliament over issues of justice, remediation of contaminated lands and adequate compensation for the victims. His efforts resulted in the UK Minister of state in the Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office Anne-Marie Trevelyan, to commit to raise issues of Bhopal with Indian counterparts during ongoing discussions on trade and cooperation.”

“We hope the active support of the UK parliamentarians will inspire
parliamentarians worldwide to come to the aid of the Bhopal  survivors who are currently fighting for adequate compensation, cleaning up of poisons from soil and groundwater, punishment of the guilty corporations and medical and social rehabilitation.” Said Balkrishna Namdeo, President of the Bhopal Gas Peedit Nirashrit Pensionbhogee Sangharsh Morcha.

Rashida Bi: Bhopal Gas Peedit Mahila Stationery Karmchari Sangh,  8827218215
Nawab Khan & Shezadi Bee: Bhopal Gas Peedit Mahila Purush  Sangharsh Morcha, 7441193309
Rachna Dhingra: Bhopal Group for Information and Action  9826167369
Nousheen Khan: Children Against Dow Carbide, 9713975671

Share this:


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.