Hunger strikers in second week of protest against proposed dirty coal-burning power plants in Texas

November 2, 2006

Protestors to outline efforts to block fast-tracking of sites that would mean more premature death, illness for Texans; preliminary hearings on TXU plants expected shortly.

NEWS ADVISORY, November 2, 2006
Hunger strikers calling for a reversal of Governor Perry’s executive order fast-tracking permits for proposed coal-burning power plants in Texas will update reporters on November 2, 2006 as they enter the ninth day of their fight for protecting clean air and the health of Texans. The hunger strike, which commenced on October 25, 2006, began in conjunction with the anniversary of the order that fast-tracked permits. Preliminary hearings, under the fast-track order, are set to begin shortly for a number of the most recently proposed TXU coal-burning power plants. Since the executive order last October, the number of proposed plants has grown from 7 to 19, only one of which would use the cleanest technology available.
News event participants will be:
* SEED Coalition Executive Director Karen Hadden; works with communities statewide
* Robertson County Our Land Our Lives President Paul Rolke, – near proposed TXU Oak Grove plant
* Shrimper, author and Gulf Coast activist Diane Wilson – near two proposed Calhoun County petroleum coke fueled electric plants, regulated as coal plants, and with similar pollutants
TO PARTICIPATE:
Two events will be held:
(1) a live, phone-based statewide news conference (with full Q&A) at 1 p.m. CT/2:00 p.m. ET on November 2, 2006 at 1 (800) 860-2442 – Ask for the Texas power plant hunger strike news event
(2) an in-person media availability with the hunger strikers at 2:00 p.m. CT/3:00 p.m. ET on November 2, 2006 in the Speaker’s Committee Room at the Texas State Capitol, 1100 Congress, Austin, Texas.
CAN’T PARTICIPATE?
A streaming audio replay of the phone-based news event will be available on the Web at http://www.StoptheCoalPlant.org as of 5 p.m. CT/6 p.m. ET on November 2, 2006.
CONTACT: Patrick Mitchell, (703) 276-3266 or pmitchell@hastingsgroup.com.
ABOUT THE GROUPS
The Sustainable Energy and Economic Development (SEED) Coalition is an alliance of individuals, businesses, and organizations advocating sustainable energy strategies for Texas, including the use of renewables and conservation. SEED also educates the public about the economic, environmental, and health benefits of a sustainable energy strategy. Visit SEED on the Web at http://www.seedcoalition.org.

Facebooktwitteryoutubemail

Share this:

Facebooktwitterredditmail

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.